3 thoughts on “Redirect

    • I wrote a couple of drafts of a novel that is partly based on those interviews and partly on stories I picked from my family and friends when I was growing up in Romania. I haven’t finished it, though. When I was working on it, around 2008, I didn’t quite understand how storytelling worked. For instance, writing the story of a dissident’s ordeal might work from a documentary angle, but it doesn’t work from a novelistic angle because there is no unified antagonist, other than the whole system. Time after time I was told that the story didn’t work, and now I get it. Now I plan to return to the novel with the experience I gained from my second book, and try to make it a captivating read, in fiction form. But I do think that having the story’s source (based on those interviews) out there for everyone to read is great for the world, and for my novel too.

Leave a comment